Township Committee

Regular Meetings

  • 8 pm
  • 2 to 3 times per month
  • Municipal Building

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

  1. alanwalker

    Alan Walker


  1. lesterapreston

    Lester A. Preston

    Deputy Mayor

  1. Maureen Fasano

    Maureen Fasano


  1. tomcook

    Thomas L. Cook


  1. anthonyamiano

    Anthony J. Ammiano



The Township Committee governs Freehold Township. It is the oldest form of government in New Jersey and is considered to be the most responsive to the needs of its citizens. Freehold Township is governed by 5 Committee persons, each of whom is elected for a 3-year staggered term. At the beginning of each year, the Committee members elect 1 of their members to serve as Mayor and one as Deputy Mayor for that year.

This 5-member Committee is empowered to enact local ordinances, to levy municipal taxes and conduct the affairs of this community. In almost all cases, it can review and approve the actions of other Freehold Township boards, committees and agencies. All legislative powers of the Township are exercised by the Township Committee. These powers can take the form of a resolution, ordinance or proclamation. The Township Committee conducts all of its business during monthly meetings open to the public.

For more information, please contact the Mayor's Office.

Meetings Overview

The Mayor presides at meetings of the Township Committee. One meeting per month is a workshop meeting where the Committee discusses and debates proposed resolutions, ordinances and other policy matters. This meeting is open to the public. All public meetings have time allotted for members of the public to speak on any issues they wish to address to the Township Committee.


The Mayor and/or Township Committee appoints volunteers to serve on the many Boards and Commissions which assist the Township with its duties and responsibilities to the community. If you are interested in volunteering to serve on a Board or Commission, please send your resume, a cover letter and a completed Citizen Leadership Form (PDF) to:

Mayor's Talent Bank
1 Municipal Plaza
Freehold, NJ 07728


Township Committee members: From Left to Right: Committeeman Thomas L. Cook., Committeeman Anthony Ammiano, Committeewoman Maureen Fasano, Mayor Alan Walker, and Deputy Mayor Lester A. Preston, Jr.